Skip to content

JSK Fellowships names Class of 2018-19

  • by
  • 4 min read
  • News
JSK Fellows, Class of 2018-19

A diverse group of journalism innovators, entrepreneurs and leaders from around the world will make up the 2018-2019 class of John S. Knight (JSK) Journalism Fellows at Stanford University.

Dawn Garcia, director of the JSK Fellowships, announced the new class Monday morning. “Our next class of fellows includes people leading significant change at every level of journalism, from engaging members of the public through exceptional reporting projects, to running local news startups, to managing global investigative collaborations,” Garcia said. “They represent the breadth of the industry, and we’re looking forward to welcoming them and their families to our network. The resources of Stanford and Silicon Valley will supercharge their ideas, and make them even more effective at helping quality news and information reach the public.”

The class includes journalists who have co-founded popular initiatives that help independent photojournalists reach audiences directly, who have produced successful theatrical productions of journalistic work, who are experimenting with cutting-edge forms of storytelling, and who have played key leadership roles in the digital transformation of journalism on five continents. The group includes fellows from Argentina, Belgium, Botswana, France, India, Russia and the United States.

Beginning in September 2018, the fellows will spend 10 months at Stanford working on projects that address some of the most urgent issues in journalism. The fellows will perform experiments and test ideas that challenge misinformation and disinformation; hold the powerful accountable; strengthen local news; and fight bias, intolerance and injustice, while sharing their work with the broader industry.

Class of 2018-2019

Roman Anin ('19)
Roman Anin, editor of investigations, Novaya Gazeta, Moscow
Lyle and Corrine Nelson International Fellow
Akilah Johnson ('19)
Akilah Johnson, reporter, The Boston Globe, Boston, JSK Journalism Fellow
H R Venkatesh ('19)
H R Venkatesh, ICFJ Knight Fellow, New Delhi, JSK Journalism Fellow
Marina Walker Guevara ('19)
Marina Walker Guevara, deputy director, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, Washington, D.C., JSK Journalism Fellow
Chris Horne ('19)
Chris Horne, founder and publisher, The Devil Strip, Akron, Ohio, JSK Journalism Fellow
Peter DiCampo ('19)
Peter DiCampo, photojournalist and co-founder, Everyday Africa, Seattle, JSK Journalism Fellow
María Florencia Coelho ('19)
María Florencia Coelho, new media research and training manager, La Nación, Buenos Aires, Argentina, Knight Latin American Fellow
Tom Van de Weghe ('19)
Tom Van de Weghe, international correspondent
VRT News, Brussels, JSK Journalism Fellow
Geraldine Moriba ('19)
Geraldine Moriba, president and executive producer
Moriba Media, New York, JSK Journalism Fellow
Benjamin Petit ('19)
Benjamin Petit, photojournalist and co-director Dysturb, New York, JSK Journalism Fellow
Katie Palmer ('19)
Katie Palmer, senior editor
Wired, San Francisco, JSK Journalism Fellow
Cécile Prieur ('19)
Cécile Prieur, deputy editor, Le Monde, Paris, JSK Journalism Fellow
Ronny Rojas ('19)
Ronny Rojas, data editor
Univision News, Miami, JSK Journalism Fellow
Sarah Shourd ('19)
Sarah Shourd, freelance journalist, Oakland, California, JSK Journalism Fellow
Joel Konopo ('19)
Joel Konopo, co-founder and managing partner, INK Centre for Investigative Journalism, Gaborone, Botswana, JSK Journalism Fellow
Laura Hertzfeld ('19)
Laura Hertzfeld, director
Journalism 360, Online News Association, Santa Monica, California, JSK Journalism Fellow